School Governance

Our remit and structure

Brent Specialist Academy Trust (BSAT) aspires to provide the best possible education to all children attending schools within the trust.

Effective governance ensures that the Trust and each school is supported and challenged to maximise performance, and to ensure that the Trust complies with its legal obligations.

The governance of BSAT includes:

  • Members of BSAT, who are individuals who have a role akin to shareholders and so appoint Trustees and receive the accounts but are not involved in the management of BSAT.
  • A Board of Trustees that includes the Principal of BSAT, parents and staff from Manor School (and The Avenue once it opens) and Trustees appointed by Members or co-opted to bring specific skills to the Board.

The Board has established two committees:

o Standards

o Resources

Local Governing Bodies are proposed to be established when either a third school joins BSAT or when The Avenue has grown sufficiently to require its own LGB.

The Scheme of Delegation for the Trust sets out the terms of reference for the Board and its committees (including committees and panels that meet less frequently or on an ad-hoc basis). It also sets out the annual cycle of meetings and the anticipated main agenda items at each meeting.

The Register of Interests

It is important that trustees, governors and staff not only act impartially, but are also seen to act impartially. Trustees, governors, and staff have a responsibility to avoid any conflict between their business and personal interests and those of the academy trust. As such, each trustee completes a register of interests form annually, and is asked to declare any potential conflicts of interest at the beginning of each meeting. The Accounting Officer, Jayne Jardine, currently has no relevant business or pecuniary interests entered in the register.

Brent Specialist Academy Trust Governing Board of Trustees

John Roseveare – Chair of the Trust

Adil Darik – Manor Local Governing Board member

Jayne Jardine – Principal

Sarah Johnson – Staff Trustee

Louise Kimber – Associate Member

Desi Lodge Patch – Vice Chair

Dean Newby – Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee

Margaret O’Connor – Associate Member

Richard Ough – Trustee

Paul Sommerfeld – Trustee (Health and Safety Lead)

Bryan Rossi-Anderson – Trustee

Rebecca Shaw – Manor Local Governing Board member

Yasmin Sher – Parent Trustee